Counting Sheep


Eureka! I’ve found it. You count sheep, I could BREATHS!

sheep

When I cannot sleep, I simply do the 4-4-7. It is easy to remember and it always work for me, but you have to do it 8 consecutive times before it works. This is how to do it:

1. Relax all your muscles, starting from  your toes all the way to your scalp.

2. Inhale slowly counting to 4 filling your belly with air.

3. Hold your breath in, count to 4.

4. Exhale slowly counting to 7, emptying your belly from air until your bellybutton sticks to your back.

Repeat at least 8 times. If your mind wanders away, simply bring it back to consciously follow your breath.

That’s the trick. Whether it is sheep or cows or your breath, you need to let you mind focus on one single thing until it relaxes and sleeps.

Sleep tight!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Counting Sheep

  1. This is exactly the Sleeping Breath I’m learning in my birthing classes :). But it’s hard for me to exhale to 7, I feel I run out of oxygen. Maybe for me is 4-6?

    • Yes, why not, 6 should already empty your belly of air. I can’t always do 7, especially if the air is too dry in the room. Isn’t it such a gift to learn this ‘weapon’? And do you like the photo?! ;-)

Leave a Reply

