A Dedicated Follower of … Sunshine!


I scream, you scream, we all scream for SUNSHINE!

I don’t think there’s anyone in the whole wide world who doesn’t like  sunshine. Find me someone who prefers a gray day over a sunny day and I’ll  give them my bicycle, all my cookbooks, and my coffee maker. Sunshine can sometimes do more to lift my mood than chocolate, a pay rise, or a nice  dream would. It doesn’t beat a genuine tight hug, but it definitely presents  competition!

Living in this part of North America surely increases one’s appreciate for  sun and its benefits, and I don’t know if that is a good thing or a bad thing.  Sometimes it feels like a good thing to have something not so often so that  you can appreciate it once it appears, and at other times it feels too much of  a long wait, waiting for the sun to peak through the clouds and warm your  bones, draw a smile on your face, and get you out of the house on a weekend  morning.

coffee-second-cup

In any case, I did appreciate the sun’s appearance this weekend. When I  opened my eyes Saturday morning and saw the sun rays filtering through   my bedroom curtain, my brain immediately jolted up! It’s here, the sun is  here! My mind started racing with all the possibilities. What to do? Walk up  the mountain? Go to a cafe and stick my face to the glass window facing the  sun? Walk aimlessly around? Ice skating? Whatever option I was going to  choose, it was going to involve one sure thing: sun worshiping!

Finally, I went for the simplest and most delicious option: I just walked to Second Cup, got myself a cup of mocha, half-sweet just like I like it, asked  for whipped (I usually don’t), sprinkled chocolate on top and just … walked  around! With a smile on my face. The sun does make you silly. But happy.

7 thoughts on “A Dedicated Follower of … Sunshine!

  1. i see very well what you mean, i felt that today, although it was too cold outside, it was sunny and not one cloud ( of course for a couple of hours only), so i went outside walked abit and was smiling, just smiling and enjoying the sunlight on my face.

Leave a Reply

