Chicken with Preserved Lemon and Green Olives


My dear friend Ferdy recently gave me a jar of preserved lemons and of course, being the food enthusiast that I am, I rushed to Renaud Bray to find me a Moroccan cookbook. Instead, I found an amazing magazine: Les 60 meilleurs du monde…point final.! And from this amazing magazine, I made this excellent recipe (with a few differences), probably the best chicken recipe that could ever exist!

chicken in dutch oven

chickenwithpreservedlemonandolives02

For best results, use a dutch oven. The dutch oven will render the chicken very tender and the sauce as thick as you’d like it to be. I served this with white rice on the side simply because all the flavor is in the chicken and you don’t want to ruin it by introducing another flavor.

Ingredients (serves 2):

– 2 full chicken breasts, thinly sliced into flat fillets
– 3 Tbsp oil (I used a mix of canola and grape seed oil)

– 2 garlic cloves
– 1 onion, sliced into matchsticks
– 1 Tbsp chopped fresh ginger

– 1/2 cup of green unpitted olives
– 1/2 a preserved lemon
– 1 cinnamon stick
– 1 Tbsp harissa sauce
– 1 tsp ras el-hanout spices
– 500 ml chicken broth

Method:

1. Heat the oil in your dutch oven. Fry the chicken until lightly golden.

2. Add the garlic, onion and ginger. Fry for 3 minutes.

3. Add everything else, cover the dutch oven and cook in the oven at 350 F for 1 hour.

Et voila!

8 thoughts on “Chicken with Preserved Lemon and Green Olives

  1. Sonnenshine says:

    Ok I’ve never even realized that there is something called preserved lemon.. Perhaps because where I come from we have no problem picking our lemons from our garden.

    Still the receipe looks delicious and it has my two favorites; chicken and olives.. I will surely be trying this during the weekend…
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

