Chicken Marsala


I bought a bottle of dry sherry because I wanted to try a garlic mushroom recipe that I am planning on making for our housewarming party next week. The mushrooms turned out fantastic, but I am left with almost 700 ml of sherry in my fridge! While thinking of dishes that I can do with sherry, the all-time favorite Chicken Marsala came to mind. I haven’t actually made it before, so I improvised with the sherry, the fresh thyme that I have in the fridge and of course, fresh mushrooms. The verdict: BUONISSIMA!

chicken marsala

Chicken Marsala (for 2 hungry bears):

– 2 chicken breast halves sliced into 6 thin slices
– 1/4 cup flour with 1/2 tsp of salt
– 1 cup sliced fresh white mushrooms
– 1 tsp fresh thyme
– 1/2 cup dry sherry
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1/2 tsp black pepper
– 1 Tbsp butter and 2 Tbsp olive oil

Method:

1. Coat the chicken slices in the flour.

2. In a large saucepan, heat the butter and olive oil on medium heat and fry the chicken on both sides until it turns white o golden, but not too golden.

3. Add the mushrooms and cover the pan so that the chicken continues to cook and the mushrooms soften and let out their juices. (7 minutes)

4. Mix the dry sherry with the thyme, black pepper and salt. Add to the pan. Cover and simmer until the chicken is fully cooked the sauce thickens (because of the flour). (10 minutes or so)

5. Turn off heat before all the liquid evaporates. You want the thick sauce, believe me! The flavor is all there.

There you go!

Serve with white rice.

Leave a Reply

