Life Would be Dreary Without an Addiction


Mine is called Downton Abbey.

It started a few weeks ago when I was belatedly drawn to Downton Abbey. Yes, I only just started watching it a couple of weeks ago after I had heard several addicted friends talk about it like it is the new age opium. Being the mature person I am, “I reserved my judgement” and decided to give it a look.

That was late October. Now, I am a full-fledged addict; I worry about Lady Mary’s future more than her mother Cora does, I proudly quote Carson, I swoon over Lord Grantham, and I am an avid admirer of the Dowager Countess of Grantham’s wit and sarcasm.

Every night now, between 10 and 11 pm, the ritual is as follows: a hot cup of tea (preferably STASH Ginger Peach Green Tea) and an episode of Downton Abbey.

(Ah, how I love Montreal!)

And why not throw in a few of my favorite DA quotes?

“Life is a game in which the player must appear ridiculous.”

“I hope you know that really smart people sleep in separate rooms.”

“I’m a woman, Mary. I can be as contrary as I choose.”

“Are you afraid someone will think you’re American if you speak openly?”

“But nobody learns anything from a governess, apart from French and how to courtesy.”

”War has a way of distinguishing between the things that matter and the things that don’t.”

“I’d rather have the right man, than the right wedding.”

“I’m an American, I don’t share your English hatred of comfort.”

12 thoughts on “Life Would be Dreary Without an Addiction

      • KarenMS says:

        Speaking of the costume design, sales of vintage clothing, I guess in the UK, sky-rocketed when the show became popular. Even I am addicted, and I’ve been googling where to buy vintage 1920s clothing for the fun of it! If you’re interested in seeing cousin Matthew (Dan Stevens) himself, in person, live, he is playing in a broadway show called The Heiress in New York.

  1. Sonnenshine says:

    My flight blister me with 6 episodes of season two.. I usually sleep but this time u made sure I cover all 6 back and forth..

    One of your quotes from S2E3 was just too hilarious…
    “I’m a woman, Mary. I can be as contrary as I choose.”

    Ps, costumes are just thrilling and I am buying a grey overcoat on first chance :-)

  2. Great post! I have also been catching up with DA and I find it amazing. Everything about it is beautiful, so beautiful. Glad you wrote down some great quotes, I’ll try to remember a few!

    Take care,
    Catherine xx

Leave a Reply

