Guest Post by SABINE


The following beautiful post is by Sabine, a fellow tweep (@babinette) who  graciously provided the post, recipe and photographs! Thank you Sabine for your guest post, I’ve been waiting for several promised posts by other friends, but you were the first to send a post. Thanks!

MY MUSTARD BRINGS ALL THE BOYS TO THE YARD, DAMN RIGHT! by Sabine

If you know me even remotely well, you would know that I have passion for 3 things: Good food, good music, and earrings. But you would also know that I have a bit of an obsession with mustard! I can’t even remember how it started, but all of a sudden I started buying mustard jars everywhere I went, collecting random flavours from foodie markets or far away towns, and at any one point I could have about 10 different mustards in the cupboard. Yes, really! Then one day, I had an idea which seemed very obvious for some, and a total waste of time for others… I decided I would try making mustard at home.

My first batch was a total adventure! My home made mustard turned out to have a much stronger flavour than jars bought at the supermarket, and a much different texture. But what I also discovered is that it’s such an easy process, I couldn’t believe how quick the whole thing was, you should try it too! I have so far used recipes from books and modified them slightly to suit my own taste buds, below are the ones I’ve used during my last experimentation. I ended up with some honey mustard and a bit of herbs mustard. Both turned out to be delicious, though I’ll admit I am especially proud of the herbs flavoured batch.

(The recipes below are from a book called 400 sauces by Catherine Atkinson, Christine France and Maggie Mayhew)

Herbs mustard

Ingredients:

1/2 cup white mustard seeds (they’re actually yellow)

1/4 cup light brown sugar

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp ground turmeric

2/3 cup distilled malt vinegar (basically clear coloured malt vinegar)

4 tbsp chopped fresh mixed herbs (I used rosemary, sage and lemon thyme)

Herbs Mustard

Method of preparation:

1- Add the mustard seeds, sugar, salt, pepper and turmeric in a blender or food processor and blend for about 1 minute.

2- Gradually add the vinegar to the mixture, blending in between additions. (This is the part that I found to be a little tricky. The original recipe called for 1 cup of vinegar, but I stopped at 2/3 of the way as I thought it was already the right consistency. I think it would’ve also ended up a bit too strong.)

3- Add chopped herbs to the mustard, mix well and let it stand for 10-15 mins until the mustard thickens slightly.

4- Store the mustard in well sealed jars and keep in the fridge.

This goes really well with cheese and ham sandwiches, and delicious in a burger!

********************

Honey mustard

Ingredients:

1/2 cup mustard seeds

1/2 tbsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground ginger

2/3 cups white wine vinegar

3 tbsp dark clear honey

Honey Mustard

Method of preparation:

1- Put mustard seeds, cinnamon, ginger and vinegar in a bowl and let it soak overnight. (I’ll admit I did cheat and didn’t let it soak for that long, the result was still good!)

2- The next day, add the mixture to a blender and add the honey gradually while blending until the mustard resembles a stiff paste. If needed, add a little bit of extra vinegar for a looser consistency.

4- Store the mustard in well sealed jars and keep in the fridge.

Please note I found this mustard needs to sit for a few days before you can eat it. Goes really well with steak or a meat pie.

2 thoughts on “Guest Post by SABINE

  1. I love mustard, I can add it to alot of dishes, specially delicious on a steak, and stired in yogurt as a sauce for tuna salad or sandwich filling. I like those guest posts.

Leave a Reply

