Sfouf


Confetti is back in action! It has been a long time and I have seriously missed cooking, baking and blogging! It is good to be back, and for this occasion I baked one of the most famous Lebanese cakes: sfouf.

I don’t know what sfouf means, but it is a delicious and special dessert. My aunt bakes it very often and when I was last visiting Beirut, I took the recipe from her and have wanted to try it since. It’s an easy recipe and it worked out perfectly fine. Sfouf has a sweet and earthy taste, very nice for breakfast with a cup of cafe au lait.

SfoufIngredients:

– 4 cups flour
– 2 cups sugar
– 1 cup oil
– 2 cups milk
– 1 Tbsp turmeric
– 3 tsp baking powder

– Almonds

Sfouf

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 325F.

2. Mix all ingredients together except the almonds.

3. Pour the batter in a 20x30cm baking pan. Grease the pan beforehand if necessary. Place half almonds on top in rows.

4. Bake in the oven for 30 minutes.

5. Cool before cutting it in cubes.

5 thoughts on “Sfouf

  1. Welcome back. Hope you’re good now. I love sfouf alot and I bake it whenever I feel like sweets and easy quick recipe… yours look great… I think sfouf means the cut-shape lozanges or squares lining next to each other, in a row. and it could have another meaning also.

    • Hey! I think sfouf means rows (maybe) but I still don’t know why they would call a dessert that! Anyway, it’s a delicious dessert that’s light and so easy to make.

Leave a Reply

