Tuna Sandwich


I like to make these tuna sandwiches when I feel like eating something that is good for my health and for my appetite! This is a very simple recipe, no fancy herbs or weird-sounding sandwich spreads. I used to make these for dinner when I was back home working at night from home.

The recipe below makes two sandwiches, so be a generous soul tonight and share with a friend!

In a bowl, empty half a tuna can (75g), add lemon juice of 1/4 of a lemon and a teaspoon of mayonnaise and mix well. Add in around 2 Tbsp of finely chopped tomatoes and season with salt and pepper. I love pickles, so I also add 1 Tbsp of pickled cucumbers chopped finely. Mix well.

To make the sandwiches, I squeeze around a teaspoon of mustard on toasted toast. Scoop 1 Tbsp of the tuna mix and spread it over the mustard, lay slices of tomatoes on top (or lettuce if you’re not a big fan of tomatoes) and sprinkle dried coriander on top. I like the taste of coriander with the tomato, but you can leave that out, it’s optional.

That’s it. In the summertime back home, I used to enjoy this tuna sandwich with a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice sitting on our balcony in Beirut that overlooked a busy street bustling with life. Good days!

 

3 thoughts on “Tuna Sandwich

Leave a Reply

