Chicken with Ginger and Coconut Cream


It’s been a while I haven’t cooked with chicken, and it’s on purpose. I’ve been focusing more on vegetables because to tell you the truth, I miss them and I miss all the different ways you can use them. But tonight I felt like cooking something Indian or Thai and I had in mind to try a recipe with coconut cream. I had jotted down a few spices that go together (turmeric and garam masala for example) and I know that ginger goes well with coconut cream. I also had a basic chicken ginger recipe that I built on and arrived at this recipe.

This is a beautifully aromatic dish. Maybe not as aromatic as Thai food (there’s no lemon grass here), but the coconut cream with the spices and the gentle squeeze of lemon at the end give it a mild citrus-y taste.

Chicken with Ginger and Coconut Cream

Ingredients (for 2 or 3 people):

– 500g boneless chicken breasts cut into cubes
– 1 Tbsp of fresh ginger, diced
– 2 garlic cloves, minced
– 75g yogurt

– 1 onion, finely chopped
– Dried peperoncino, I used two

– 2 Tbsp vegetable oil
– 1 tsp ground coriander
– 1/2 tsp turmeric
– 1/2 tsp garam masala

– Salt to taste

– 50g coconut cream
– Water

– 1/2 a lemon

Chicken with Ginger and Coconut Cream

Method

1. Marinate the chicken with the garlic, ginger and yogurt for a a few hours. I marinated them overnight.

2. Fry the turmeric, coriander and garam masala in the vegetable oil. When the oil is hot, add the onions and chili and fry for a few minutes.

3. Add in the chicken cubes with the marinade and fry for ten minutes or so. The chicken should cook but be completely done.

4. Add the coconut cream and a little bit of water to cover the chicken 3/4 of the way. Season with salt and bring to boil. Simmer and cover for 30 to 40 minutes.

5. When the liquid has evaporated to less than half , you can turn off the heat or increase it to high to have more liquid evaporate. It depends if you like sauce with your chicken or you prefer it to be just chicken.

6. Turn off the heat and squeeze in the lemon juice of half a lemon, but don’t squeeze it to the last drop, just give it a gentle squeeze. Mix and serve with plain basmati rice, boiled or steamed.

2 thoughts on “Chicken with Ginger and Coconut Cream

  1. It’s been a while for me too since I ate chicken with spices… lately I’ve been thinking of noodles with vegetables and some chicken all cooked in a wok…maybe soon we’ll do it.

Leave a Reply

