Divine No-Bake Halawa and Chocolate Clusters


These clusters have simply made my day. Too bad they came towards the end of it!

Halawa and Chocolate Cookies

I love halawa (sweet sesame paste) but I am not one of those halawa fanatics who eat it with butter, bananas and honey as a sandwich. I love halawa straight from the container, scooped out with a spoon and tossed straight into my mouth, especially directly after lunch! Chocolate? I can tolerate it! Halawa and chocolate? Must have died and gone to heaven!

This recipe combines both almost-imaginary ingredients and uses another good friend: tea biscuits. The best part about these clusters: they do not need any baking! The second best part: it takes 15 minutes to prepare them! You will not be able to resist the divine combination of chocolate and halawa. I still can’t believe that I haven’t thought of this recipe before!!

Halawa and Chocolate Clusters

Ingredients (make 20 clusters):

– 150g halawa
Chocolate ganache
– 150g plain tea biscuits
– A handful of sesame seeds for sprinkling

Method:

Prepare the chocolate ganache as instructed in this recipe. Set aside.

In a bowl, break the biscuits into small pieces, add the halawa and give them a mix. Don’t worry if they are too crumbly, they will not mix well as both ingredients are dry. Add the chocolate ganache and with a spoon, mix the three ingredients very well. The mixture will be much softer than a cookie dough, remember there is no flour in this recipe, so do not expect a cookie dough.

With a 1 Tbsp measuring spoon, scoop out the mixture and place on a cookie tray lined with parchment paper. The mixture should yield 20 clusters. Sprinkle sesame seeds on top and refrigerate for at least an hour.

Try it, thank the lord for halawa and then come back and leave a comment on this post! Cheers!

8 thoughts on “Divine No-Bake Halawa and Chocolate Clusters

  1. I love halawa too, and straight from the container. The clusters are great, never tried halawa with chocolate, they should be incredibely delicious. Good recipe Loulou. I think of Rome through images in my head, picturing the streets of Rome. Wish I had a twitter to answer you each time.
    And I liked the last line, it made me smile, it must be in Lebanon,coz everyone thinks he owns everything.

    • :) I loved these clusters, but I am going to repeat the recipe and add more biscuits and more halawa :) and I will probably take better pictures…
      Thanks for your comment :)

  2. Caroline says:

    Is it baked in the oven? Why else would it be set on parchment paper on a tray?! I tried it and without the baking and it doesn’t hold at all, although that may be my fault because I couldn’t accurately measure the ingredients…

    • No baking. I used parchment paper so that it dont stick to the tray and this way i cut out out each cluster individually and you’d eat it holding the paper. When i did these they did hold together but were a little sticky. They were much better though after an overnight of freezing. But i have to confess, next time im adding more biscuits and using less cream.
      Sorry it didnt work with you :((

      • Caroline says:

        I actually baked the clusters and they turned out really well! It wasn’t for very long (maybe 10 min), but enough for them to kind of melt into each other. They were scrumptious and held together after cooling- just like a cookie but softer. I guess this recipe is pretty versatile!

Leave a Reply

