Omelet with Cream and Mozzarella


I am sure you’ve already noticed from my recent Ijje recipe and Egg Salad recipe that I am a fan of eggs! I love eggs whether boiled, scrambled or poached. I remember when we were very young, we used to buy fresh eggs from an old lady who had a little farm in the city, very charming! I remember she used to put the eggs for me in a small basket (little red riding hood style!), very cute!

Today recipe is neither 100% omelet nor a pure quiche filling, it’s a cross between the two. I think the combination of mozzarella and cream with the eggs gave it a very quiche-y taste, something I hold dear to my heart! When we were in Paris last winter, our Parisian hosts wanted to prepare dinner on our last night at their house and asked what we wanted, and of course my answer was Quiche Lorraine! I love quiche in all its form and fillings, just like I love fresh French butter croissants. Yum yum!

For one hearty omelet, you need:

– 2 eggs
– 1/4 cup cream
– 1/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
– Salt, black pepper and white pepper
– 1 tsp butter

Method

Whisk all the ingredients together in a bowl.

Melt the butter in a pan. Pour the whisked egg mixture over the melted butter and when the bottom becomes a little thick, turn down the heat and cover. Check after5 minutes or so, when it has almost solidified but the top is still not well cooked, flip the omelet over (you can use the cover lid of the pan to flip it onto and then return it to the pan) and cook until the has become golden on both sides.

Serve hot with freshly cracked black pepper on top. A simple rucola salad would go well on the side.

13 thoughts on “Omelet with Cream and Mozzarella

  1. You inspired me! I just went to the store and picked up all the ingredients to make this for dinner! I’ll let you know how it turns out shortly. Yummy!

    • I really hope it turns out great! Add more cheese if you love cheese like I do (I always add more than recipes instruct!). Thanks for you comment!

  2. It’s delicious! So light and fluffy! I am going to try it again tomorrow for breakfast and use swiss cheese instead for another version. Also added another of my favorite ingredients…

    • Happy you liked it :) I love Gruyere cheese, which has a sharp taste, so I usually use that instead and your favorite ingredient would go perfectly well with this recipe ;)

Leave a Reply

