Gnocchi with Tomato Sauce


Would you believe me if I told you that I’ve been to Italy for over ten times now and  I have tried all sorts of delicious food but never really had gnocchi?! I’ve had pasta,  meat, all kinds of appetizers, Sicilian food, pastas from Sardinia, pizza from Napoli, you name it, but NEVER had gnocchi once! The reason: boh, as Italians would say! (boh – no clue)

 

 

So here’s my attempt at not just having gnocchi but making it from scratch!

Before you start working with the gnocchi, put together your tomato sauce because it will need no less than 30 minutes to cook. For tomato sauce recipe, refer to an earlier post of mine: Tomato Sauce with Butter and Onions

Gnocchi (serves 3)

Ingredients

500g potatoes
3/4 cup flour

Method

Boil the potatoes whole with skin on until soft and well cooked. Peel the skin off and then with a food mill mash the potatoes while they’re still warm. Add the flour gradually and knead with your hands to form a dough-like ball, soft but a little sticky. Roll out the dough with your hand on a floured surface to make several sausage-like rolls (2-cm width). Cut off 1cm-thick knobs and set them on a plate.

Boil salted water in a pot and throw in the gnocchi 5 pieces at a time. Take them out with a slotted spoon when they float (no longer than 4 minutes). Repeat with the rest of the gnocchi. When your gnocchi are cooked, place them in plates or in a serving dish and pour over them the tomato sauce that you’ve prepared.

Did I like gnocchi? I did, but I still prefer pasta ;)

3 thoughts on “Gnocchi with Tomato Sauce

  1. looks YUMMY! I made my first gnocchi for a New Years eve dinner with my hubby. We rented a cabin on the lake, left the kids w/ grandma and cooked a wonderful meal together. A great night! congrats on your gnocchi!

Leave a Reply

