Gratin Dauphinois – my way!


I love cheese. I love potatoes. I love butter. I wonder what I can cook with these three ingredients … Of course! Potato gratin! With no hesitation, I got down to business. And I went head down first and decided to use cream instead of milk. Ouch, fatty I know, but only fatty homemade gratin with lots of cheese can cheer up a tired hard working girl like me in the middle of a long working week! So head down first, and very selfishly, I prepared only one portion of this cheesy dish. I was home alone anyway, so you can’t blame me for not sharing my food!

I started by peeling and then slicing one medium-sized potato head. I made sure the circles of potatoes are neither too thick nor too thin. Next, I half-cooked the potatoes in milk (with salt in it). You just let the potatoes cook in hot milk until it’s boiling, for a few minutes only. You need the potatoes to be tender, not cooked. Drain the potatoes and discard the milk. You won’t need it. Now preheat the oven to 350F. Season half a cup of cooking cream with salt and all spice. Next, rub a halved garlic clove all over the bottom of a small baking dish. I used a square glass baking dish. Then place the potatoes on the bottom of the dish, pour the cream over them, add two thin shavings of butter and top everything with a little less than a cup of grated cheese (I used a mix of mozzarella and Emmental). Bake in the oven until the potatoes are cooked and the cheese is bubbling! Broil the cheese top a little, it tastes better when the top is toasted. Et voila! I promise you, you’ll feel immensely better after eating one hearty portion of this potato gratin!

Read more about the origin and meaning of gratin here.

5 thoughts on “Gratin Dauphinois – my way!

Leave a Reply

