Chocolate Pudding


I recently bought Lucinda Scala Quinn‘s cookbook called Mad Hungry (which is an excellent cookbook by the way) and of course I immediately rushed into my kitchen to try one of her recipes. I picked one of the easiest: chocolate pudding. And I also happened to have the ingredients needed. Here is what you need and how I did it. If you can find Mad Hungry, buy it. It’s very interesting and user-friendly.

I couldn’t get a good shot of the final result, but when I do the recipe again soon I’ll take a good photo and post it. For now I have these two. Apologies!

CHOCOLATE PUDDING (makes 4 small cups)

Ingredients:

– 3 1/2 Tbsp of flour, sifted

– 3 Tbsp dark cocoa powder, sifted

– 1 cup sugar (note: next time I’ll use 3/4 of a cup, turned out to be a little too sweet for me)

– Pinch of salt

– 1 1/2 cups milk

– 2 Tbsp butter

– 1 egg, beaten

– 1 tsp vanilla

Method:

Mix the sifted dry ingredients in a saucepan. On medium heat, add the milk. Stir until the mixture thickens (around 3 minutes or less). Add the butter. Stir well until everything blends into each other. Add the beaten egg. Stir well. The mixture by now should be thick, pudding like thick. Cook for 2 minutes.

Pour into cups. Cool in the fridge for an hour. You can serve it with whipped cream on top. I did that. It was really good. Now that I know it’s easy and delicious, I’ll be doing it every weekend!

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Pudding

Leave a Reply

