Pasta Con Ceci


A very fulfilling, nutritious and simple vegetarian recipe: pasta with chickpeas and tomato sauce. I don’t know how the original one is done, but I worked with what I had and this was the result:

pasta with chickpeas and tomato sauce

INGREDIENTS: (to serve 3)

– One small onion, chopped finely
– One garlic clove, chopped finely
– One small fennel, chopped (optional)
– Olive oil
– One can of peeled and chopped tomatoes
– One can of chickpeas, washed and drained
– One glass of hot water (or vegetable stock)
– One teaspoon rosemary
– One cup pasta, any shape fit for soups
– One Tbsp grated Parmesan cheese
– Salt and pepper to taste

METHOD: Fry the onion and garlic in the olive oil. Add the fennel. Add the rosemary. Fry for 3 to 5 more minutes. Add the chickpeas. Stir. Add the hot water. Add salt to taste. Bring to boil. Cover and simmer for 15 minutes. With a slotted spoon, take out one spoon of chickpeas and save aside. Add the tomato sauce to the remaining chickpeas. Stir well. In a food processor, blend the tomato and chickpea mixture until creamy. Put back in the pot , add the chickpeas that you saved, add the pasta and bring to boil. Cook until pasta is done. Add cheese. Mix well. Add black pepper. Serve hot.

A really savory, fulfilling and nutritious meal.

4 thoughts on “Pasta Con Ceci

  1. Wow, i can imagine a pasta sauce of chickpeas blended with tomatoes….

    What is great is that your recipes are easy to prepare, I don’t feel intimidated :)
    Plus I love the photography!

  2. It’s not me, it’s the blog, it keeps me coming back :)
    I tried most of them, the lemon roast potatoes (i love potatoes), the lettuce Salad, the Patate e Picelli… and I loved them!

    I am bad at emails, really bad, but I like following blogs, it is like looking through windows…. it helps me decompress.

    I promise I will write you my news soon, meanwhile keep this nice place growing :)

    • :) As long as you’re doing fine and feeling OK :)
      Good to know you tried the recipes and liked them :) they’re not (totally) my invention, but I manipulate a little with the ingredients to make it either more nutritious or less fatty.

Leave a Reply

