Mixed Vegetable and Veal Tagine


mixedtagine00

 

I wanted to cook with vegetables yet not my mom’s vegetable stew. I wanted something witih spices, a lot of flavor, and broth. I remembered my friend’s different tagines that she makes, so I put together this recipe from whatever my sensory memory recollected of previous flavors.

I used two handfuls of all the vegetables mentioned, roughly chopped too. Here’s the recipe:

This will serve 4 people.

- 350 g of meat cubes (I used veal)
– Olive oil to cover the bottom of the pot you’re using
– 1 medium onion cut into long strips
– 3 garlic cloves, crushed
– 1 jalapeno, roughly chopped
– 500 ml beef stock
– 1 heaped tsp tomato paste dissolved in 1/4 cup of water
– 1 tsp ginger powder
– 1 tsp paprika
– 1/2 tsp cumin
– 1/2 tsp dried coriander
– 1/2 tsp 7 spices (or allspice)
– Salt

- Two handfuls of potatoes, zucchini, and carrots (all cut into big chunks)

- 1 preserved lemon cut into thin strips

- 1 cup of kalamata olives

Method:

- Heat the oil in a deep pan or slow cooker. Cook the meat cubes until golden. Add the onion, garlic, jalapeno, and spices. Cook for a few minutes. Add the stock and dissolved tomato paste, bring to boil. Let it boil slowly for ten minutes.

- In the meantime, chop your vegetables into big chunks. Add them to your pot along with the olives and preserved lemon. Add salt to taste. Reduce heat, cover, and let it simmer for 30 minutes. The vegetables should be well cooked after 30 minutes.

I prepared couscous to eat with it. I thought couscous would taste the best with this mix of spices.

There you go! Easy, great-tasting, and done in an hour!

 

3 thoughts on “Mixed Vegetable and Veal Tagine

Leave a Reply

