My Mom’s Niçoise Salad


I am not sure if les niçoises would thank my mom or shoot her for preparing their salad this way! I don’t really know how a typical or authentic salade niçoise is, but I am very satisfied with my mom’s version of it. This is a very nutritious salad that you can have for dinner and could easily pack for a picnic. There aren’t any onions in there (my grandma adds finely chopped red onions to her niçoise but not my mom) and there is no mayonnaise, so you won’t have to worry about it spoiling.

nicoise salad

Ingredients (for two):

- 1 heaped cup chopped potatoes

- 2 handfuls of lettuce

- 1 tomato, chopped

- 2 hardboiled eggs

- 1 can of tuna (I like to use Albacore tuna), drained

For the dressing:

- 1 Tbsp olive oil
– 2 Tbsp regular yellow mustard
– Juice of one lemon
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1/4 tsp of mustard seeds (optional)
– Black pepper

Method:

1. Boil a pot of salty water and cook the potatoes until tender but firm.

2. In the meantime, mix the chopped tomatoes and lettuce in a bowl and keep aside.

3. Now prepare the dressing: Mix the ingredients listed above with a whisk or fork until they become homogeneous.

4. When the potatoes are done, drain them and when they’ve let off all the steam, add them to the vegetables in the bowl, add the tuna meat and mix them all together with the dressing.

5. Serve with sliced hardboiled eggs on the side.

A salad that sounds modest but is really very nutritious, fulfilling and citrus-y!

7 thoughts on “My Mom’s Niçoise Salad

Leave a Reply

