Homemade Cheese Ravioli with Tomato Basil Sauce


I can hear you going yummy! Yes, yummy it was! It was my first time making fresh pasta from scratch. I had this fresh ravioli pasta recipe (again) noted down somewhere among my recipes, but the cheese stuffing I just made it up. Here’s how you can put together this delicious plate in just over an hour.

To make raviolis enough for two people, you need:

Pasta

- 2.5 cups flour

- 1 cup hot boiling water

Filling

- 1/2 cup feta cheese

- 2 Tbsp grated Parmigiano cheese

- 1 egg

- A sprinkle of: black pepper, basil and chives

Sauce

- 1 garlic clove, finely chopped

- 1 Tbsp olive oil

- 1 cup chopped tomatoes

- 1 tsp basil (I used dried)

- A sprinkle of black pepper

- Salt

- A sprinkle of sugar

Method:

Sift the flour into a bowl and add the hot water over it. Carefully, with your hands, knead the ingredients into a dough. Add flour if you feel the dough is sticky. Let is rest for 10 minutes (while you prepare the filling).

For the filling, mix the ingredients listed above into a thick cream.

Dust the surface you’ll be working on with flour. Roll out the dough into a large circle, thickness 1 cm.

Using a pizza cutter, cut out the edges of the rolled out dough leaving it rectangular in shape.

Place one-teaspoon measures of the filling all over the dough placing them an 3 cm apart.

Again using the pizza cutter, cut between the empty spaces leaving each spoonful of the filling in a square on its own.

Fold the dough over the filling and seal with your fingers. Repeat for all the filling. You should end up with over 15 pillow-like raviolis.

Throw the raviolis in a pot of salty boiling water. Cook for 3 to 4 minutes, until the raviolis float.

Drain the raviolis and set aside.

(By the way, in order to get the raviolis in a proper square or rectangular shape, after they cool down, cut out the uneven edges with a knife.)

To prepare the sauce, fry the garlic in the olive oil for a minute. Add the tomatoes. Sprinkle a little sugar (to balance out the acidity of the tomatoes). Season generously. Bring the sauce to boil and then let it simmer for 15 minutes (to thicken). Finally, put the raviolis in the sauce. Turn off the heat after a minute or two, after the raviolis are well coated with the sauce.

Sprinkle grated Parmigiano cheese on top and, if you can, share half with a loved one!

Again, here’s the cheese ravioli with tomato sauce :)

8 thoughts on “Homemade Cheese Ravioli with Tomato Basil Sauce

  1. Mmm, this looks good. I’ve always wanted to make homemade pasta/ravioli, but I had it in my mind that I’d need some sort of special equipment. Your description seems simple and clear. Thanks! :)

    • Thank youuuu for your comment! Me too, I thought making ravioli was difficult until I saw a chef on TV doing it! I guess from now on I’ll be having many ravioli dinners :) if you decide to try my recipe, let me know how it goes! Cheers!

  2. Woooww, looks great, I love ravioli, I love pastas, and the stuffed ones are great..I always think of making pasta at home, but I will need some extra tools. Your ravioli look so delicious.

Leave a Reply

