Biscuits au Chocolat


My friend Peggy and I (and my friend Maria) share a love for the kitchen, and tonight was one of those nights when we just bake and cook and bake and cook. I made these amazing biscuits au chocolat rolls from a recipe that Peggy has from her mother. It’s a very simple and quick recipe (perfect for an afternoon dessert for kids) and after you slice the cold rolls of the chocolaty biscuits, you have a beautiful plate of a modest yet elegant dessert. Lets cut the story short and get the cooking rolling!

For two 25-centimeter rolls, you need:

- 2 eggs

- 3/4 cup sugar

- 1/2 tsp vanilla

- 6 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

- 1 Tbsp powdered milk

- 175g softened butter

- 50 plain biscuits cracked into small pieces (not too small) – note: don’t use Digestive or butter cookies

Method:

Crack the eggs in a saucepan, add the sugar and cream them together.

Add the vanilla, cocoa powder and milk and stir well.

Add the butter and whisk together until everything is blended well together.

Place the saucepan over medium heat and keep stirring.

When the mixture becomes creamy and starts to boil, turn the heat off and toss in the cracked biscuits.

Stir until you see all the biscuits have been coated with chocolate.

Lay out a sheet of cling film on a dry surface. Spoon the biscuit mixture into a line, 5 centimeters thick.

(Refer to photo at the end of post for visual aid).

Roll the cling film around the biscuit mixture into a sausage-like roll.

Make sure the cling film is firmly wrapped around the biscuit mixture.

Close both ends and let it cool before refrigerating overnight.

Repeat for the second roll.

When your biscuits au chocolat is ready, unwrap the cling film and slice the roll into 2-centimeter slices.

Serve with black tea or a cup of cappuccino.

the biscuit roll after wrapping it tightly with cling film

15 thoughts on “Biscuits au Chocolat

  1. Nadine says:

    Hi Loulou,
    I think I am going to try it! However instead of the biscuits (as I don’t have any now) I will go with porridge! Do you think it will work?
    Again, thanks a lot for the great receipes, they are an inspiration to me.
    Nadine xx

  2. Nadine says:

    :) I used a few biscuits (about 4 or 5 was all I got) and oats porridge. I can’t tell you how yummy the result was :D but they turned a bit to the soft side so I think I used more butter than I should have… I don’t know how to measure butter :(

    • Butter hardens when the rolls are refrigerated, so I do not think that less butter would have made a big difference. I think the oats are not like biscuits. Biscuits are hard enough to hold the chocolate mixture together. I do not think that the oats were able to hold everything together. Try with any kind of biscuits then. If you use Digestive instead, then maybe use less sugar because the Digestive biscuits are already sweet.
      To measure butter, either buy small packets, like 100g packets and then use half or you can divide it into 5 and you’ll have 20g pieces. This is what I do. I buy 50g packets of butter. Otherwise, you can get a small kitchen scale and measure butter in a bowl.
      I’m happy you’re trying the recipes! It motivates me!
      Try doing the lemon coconut cupcakes. They were really good!

      • Nadine says:

        Thanks a lot for all the tips. I have always relied on others for food as I am just rubbish in the kitchen! but recently I am following your blog and getting really motivated by your commentary and presentation to try doing many by myself :)
        I am surprizing everyone in the family loool..
        Soon will try the lemon coconut cupcakes and will let you know how it goes :)
        cheers,

      • Happy to know that I make cooking/baking sound easy, because it is! I never thought that I could make lasagne for example, but it turned out be to easy, you just have to follow the steps. Don’t be discouraged by your own wrong opinion of yourself in the kitchen. Let me know how those lemon cupcakes turn out to be. I’m doing some tonight too!

  3. mounir, aida says:

    yummy yummy! we had the best breakfast this morning: a cup of black cinnamon tea with one whole roll of this cake! unbeatable!!

Leave a Reply

